You Can Stop WhatsApp From Sharing Your Information With Facebook

WhatsApp Terms and Privacy Policy document has changed and as at today, your personal information – like your phone number – will be shared with parent company Facebook. The two companies say the new policy will help you find friends and “improve your Facebook ads and products experiences,” but it will also give businesses a new avenue to reach potential customers, with WhatsApp describing situations where banks and airlines will use your phone number to get in touch about fraudulent payments or delayed flights.

The popular messenger, with her more than one billion users, says the updated document is to reflect on new features like WhatSapp Calling and re-affirmed it won’t sell or share that number with advertisers, but if you are uncomfortable with the idea of sharing your phone number with Facebook, the place where information-hungry eyes feast daily, you’re in luck — you’ve still got a chance to stop WhatsApp from handing Facebook this new data if you act fast.

loading...

Thankfully, WhatsApp’s opt-out period is 30 days long, so if you have updated your WhatsApp and “agree” to this new policy, opt out now before the window closes. There are two ways to stop WhatsApp from sharing your information with Facebook.

How to Stop WhatSapp From Sharing Your Information With Facebook

WhatsApp keeps the policy change somewhat hidden and with the policy document staring at you with the AGREE button, you may easily fall for it. Here are the two options to stop WhatsApp from sharing your information with Facebook.

WhasApp updated Terms and Private Policy
WhasApp updated Terms and Private Policy

Option 1: Read the Terms and Conditions

The first has to be done before you accept the messaging app’s new terms of service. Rather than clicking “agree” blindly, press the smaller “read more” option below, and uncheck the box that reads “Share my WhatsApp account information with Facebook…”

Option 2: In Your Settings

This applies to those who’ve already accepted those new terms. Head to the app’s settings menu, and then press the account tab. From there, you can uncheck the box reading “Share my account info” to stop providing Facebook with your user data.

⇒Trending Online
loading...
⇒Trending Online
loading...

RUBIZTECH

I am an Electrical Engineer and a blogger who loves to share about latest Tech news, Online money making ideas, Gadget reviews, Security, Computers, Android etc. You can capture him on: Facebook, Google+, Twitter, Pinterest, BBM, Telegram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: